New Year Indulgence

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In Due Time.”

“What’s your next, most pressing deadline? Are you excited, stressed, or ambivalent about it? What’s the first thing you’d like to do once you’re done with it?”

This past year has been filled with deadlines both big and small. This is my last deadline of the year! I plan to complete the tasks on my To-Do-List before December 24th. Campus closes December 25th – January 2nd. I am not as excited as I am imagining the relief I will feel once the list is cleared. I shall then work on my own creative project! I will have the first draft of my book done by June. Yes, I know… I’m setting another deadline, but I do not know any other way to complete a project other than to picture it done and set a reasonable timeline to reach that goal.

I have a decent first chapter. I have quite a cast of characters. I have situations these characters must all deal with in their own unique ways. I’m sure a catastrophe or two will get in the way of my main character as she tries to accomplish something that would be so simple if it weren’t for the rest of the characters with all their idiosyncrasies.

Once the first draft is done, I can take a break for a month or so before going back to revise and hopefully have a piece worth sharing at the writers conference next November.

Wouldn’t it be lovely if the book would write itself? It’s had its chance. The first chapter was drafted by December 2011 and the book still hasn’t completed itself! So, it’s all up to me.

Wish me luck on this journey, friends!

Lenore

Jump on in to this conversation!

